Uncategorized

Families That Train Together Are Happier Together! 

Every jiu jitsu practitioner knows that it’s a time consuming sport. Whether you are a student athlete trying to balance school with jiu jitsu, someone trying to balance a career, or your are a full time athlete, jiu jitsu is a lot of time.

As a teenager, my time is also my families time. Whether it’s going to class, seminars, or weekends away for tournaments, it’s together. It’s especially a lot of time when you consider that my dad trains with me! When I started out my parents had to drive me to and from class because I didn’t have my license yet. With my gym being 20 minutes away, it didn’t make sense for them to drop me off and come back. So, during class my dad would sit and watch. Just as I did, he fell in love with it and quickly started joining me on the mat.

After that, BJJ quickly became a family affair. Even my mom, who was very wary at first, has gotten immersed into the jiu jitsu lifestyle. It may not be training and competing, but it’s all the runs she goes on with me while dropping weight for tournaments and the meal prep she helps with. It’s also all the times she goes to class to watch and be a part of it.

My sister has also been a huge support in my jiu jitsu journey. She has been at every tournament cheering me on and documenting it for me. For my last tournament she chose to skip out on her annual President’s Ball in order to come home from college and surprise me by tagging along for the tournament.

With my family all somehow involved with the sport it comes up a lot at my house. We will sit down for dinner and some way or another jiu jitsu will come up. Whether it’s talking about a new technique learned at class, a tournament coming up, or the latest EBI, it all gets discussed around our dinner table.

Grappling doesn’t stay at the gym either. We shortly put in a home gym with mats after we couldn’t get enough time at the gym. But let’s face it, jiu jitsu matches quickly break out in the kitchen any time minor disagreements come up at my house. I guess its just a part of living the jiu jitsu lifestyle, you can’t get away from it!

Leave a Reply

