BJJ, Uncategorized

It’s Important to Balance Jiu-Jitsu and Life’s Responsibilities

“We are often at war with ourselves. You have to find that balance between your heart and your mind.” (author unknown) Finding balance in every aspect of your life is something a lot of people struggle with, including myself.

As my favorite sport, and ultimately what I want to spend the rest of my life doing, jiu jitsu takes up a lot of my time. While still being a student, and planning to attend college in the near future, school also takes up a lot of my time. The struggle to find balance between doing what I love, jiu jitsu, and doing what I have to, school, is hard and often stressful at times.

It’s always a battle in my head when I have to miss out on time I could be spending on the mats. When I miss BJJ, it’s usually something school related; band concerts, Business Professionals of America events, National Honors Society meetings and let’s not forget homework. If you include blogging, being a student athletic trainer, and worship band at church, I’m even busier. All of those things combined make me who I am, but that doesn’t make it any easier. My priority is ultimately  jiu jitsu, but my priority is also to create the future that I want to live.

I have my heart set on spending the rest of my life doing jiu jitsu; competing, teaching, and ultimately opening my own academy. But I can’t prepare myself for that just by being at the gym. I have to get an education and prepare myself for college in order to continue my education and prepare myself for the rest of my life. That is how I find the balance between my head and heart.

I know that the things I’m doing off the mat now are going to help me be able to spend even more time on the mat in the future. To any student athlete out there struggling to find balance, remember that everything you are doing now, on and off the mat, is helping you to reach all of your future goals. Live for the present, but prepare for the future.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

