BJJ, Uncategorized

Whatever Jiu Jitsu Breaks, it Fixes in Other Ways. 

Since I joined Jiu Jitsu, many things about my life has changed. From broken toes becoming the norm and learning a little bit of Portuguese, along with changes to my health, free time, and shopping habits, Jiu Jitsu has changed my life.

Before I stepped on the mats I was an athlete in other sports, but I didn’t care about my body the way BJJ has lead me to. This sport has really helped me see the amazing things that my body is capable of. Because of this, I have begun to eat much healthier in order to fuel my body better. I have also started running more to help improve my cardiovascular health and doing more yoga to help improve my flexibility. Along with the positive changes in my health there are some negative ones that come too. Broken toes are something I have constantly. It seems as soon as one heals another one breaks and there isn’t enough tape to keep them together. A broken nose is also an injury I’ve had to deal with, but luckily I healed fast.

My free time looks much different than it used to also. For instance, three days a week I’m at the gym on the mats. The other four days I’m doing some sort of activity like hitting the heavy bag, running, or yoga to keep improving, with a rest day thrown in there somewhere. Besides being more physically active, since I joined BJJ I also watch different things. Instead of watching college basketball its the latest EBI or instead of hosting movie nights, it’s fight nights to watch the latest UFC.  When I surf through YouTube I find myself having to google translations of Portuguese in order to actually understand what they are saying.

I love shopping. Since I joined Jiu Jitsu my shopping habits have drastically changed. Instead of buying new jeans and dresses, I’m saving up to buy a new gi, rash guard, or spats, because lets be real, you can never have enough! If I’m not buying new clothing for jiu jitsu, I’m saving up for the next seminar, buying the latest issue of Jiu Jitsu Magazine, or paying gym fees.

With all of the changes that have come about in my life since stepping on the mats it has all had a positive impact, except for maybe draining my bank account, but I wouldn’t change anything about it! I love this sport and I love this lifestyle.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

