It’s hard to know when or if you should join a new activity, especially when its something that isn’t very ordinary. Although Jiu-Jitsu isn’t common, here are my top 5 reasons why you should join.

  1. Self Defense

Many people have claimed that Jiu-Jitsu is one of the best forms of self defense for women. As a women practitioner, I agree. The things I have learned from training in Jiu- Jitsu that could help me in a situation where I need to defend myself are priceless. Even just a little bit of training can make your self defense game that much stronger.

2. Exercise

BJJ is amazing exercise! It is very different than any other workout too. It’s great cardio and great strength training. Jiu-Jitsu  It uses and trains different muscles than your everyday exercises. I sometimes leave class with muscles being sore that I didn’t even know I had.

3. Confidence

Being able to toss, choke, and break a full sized adult can be a confidence booster. It definitely has been for me. Through my BJJ journey I have become much more confident  thanks to this sport. I am confident with my body with knowing how strong I really am and seeing all the potential it has and I am much more confident in who I am.

4. It’s Fun

You don’t want to do something unless it’s fun. Jiu-Jitsu is fun. Going to class quickly became my favorite activity. On top of weekly classes there is also the tournaments that are a blast!

5.You Join A Family

Joining the Jiu-Jitsu community is joining one giant, worldwide family. Your teammates will quickly become family due to all the time you spend at the gym. Not just that, but you automatically have a connection with someone when you hear them say they do BJJ.

From self defense to a second family, those are just some of the reasons to join Jiu-Jitsu. This incredible martial art has so much to offer everyone that joins.

