The name Mom has many titles. Caregiver, friend, nurse, cook, and supporter are just a few. Moms have a tough job. Jiu-Jitsu moms have an even tougher job. From driving back and fourth to the gym multiple times a week, preparing food for tournaments, taking pictures at testings, and most importantly supporting her favorite athlete through all the anxiety and nervousness. Although she is not on the mats with me (yet), my mom has been a huge support in my Jiu-Jitsu journey.

So Mom, here’s to you and all of the other Jiu-Jitsu moms out there…

First off, thank you. Thank you for letting me be in this sport and for letting me find a passion that I wouldn’t have without you. Although you were scared of me getting hurt and scared of the unknown that came with this new sport, you let me try it and you let me fall in love.

Thank you for your time. You have invested about as much time into this sport as I have. You have spent countless hours at the gym with me waiting for me to finish class. You’ve sacrificed Saturday’s so I could train more, and you have sacrificed entire weekends to go and watch me compete. Time is something you can never get back and I appreciate all of the time you have spent with me, with and without Jiu-Jitsu.

Thank you for your support. You have supported me from day one. Whether it was asking about class and listening to me speak Jiu-jitsu for hours back when you didn’t understand and even now when you’ve heard it non stop for over a year, you continue to listen. You also support my weird food requests. Even when I add organic mac n cheese, an insane amount of bananas, and acai to the grocery list, you continue to buy it for me. You are also there for every tournament. You haven’t missed a match even though it makes you extremely nervous and you find it hard to watch sometimes, you are still standing by the barriers cheering me on.

Thank you for your money. Jiu-Jitsu isn’t cheap! As a high schooler I wouldn’t be able to afford the gym fees, tournament fees, and lets be honest, the multiple gis I probably don’t need. Without your financial support  I would’t be able to train, so thank you.

Mom, without you I wouldn’t exist and I also wouldn’t be able to succeed in Jiu-Jitsu. Thank you for everything you have done for me on and off the mats!

